"89% of all Americans give to charity annually, but only 8% include a bequest

to charity in

their will."

What Is NOBLE?

Charitable giving is driven by intrinsic motivations that are different for every individual, even though they may share similar demographic and lifestyle characteristics. These characteristics fall into five basic categories: Noble (cause), Obligation, Benefit, Legacy, and Ego. When the first letter of each of these categories is set to a word, the result is NOBLE. This unique methodology—to increase planned gifts through identification of psychological motivations for giving—is named NOBLE. This methodology can be successfully applied to many institutional outreach programs.

National Committee on

Planned Giving


© 2014 The Verdi Group, Inc.